Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Lomography X The Gap – Austria's Finest Photography Talents. Good luck!

The Digital Camera Magazine Review on The Belair X 6-12

2012-12-04

A reporter from China’s “The Digital Camera Magazine” has tried our new Belair X 6-12 for size! Intrigued to hear what they thought? The review is as follows…

The Vintage Design
The most special point of this camera is the accordion. When you want to take a photo just push the button and the accordion will jump out! The advantage of this kind of design is that the 120mm camera basically stealthily masquerades as a small brick (but not as heavy) when you’re not taking photos! Yes…It composed as a brick. The size doesn’t reduce too when the accordion is closed. So bring your camera bags with it. Overall the Belair X 6-12 is different from the classic 135mm cameras, such as LC-A+.

Owing to the cool body of this camera, I don’t think too many people will leave and forget it inside their camera bags. This accordion camera will give you a totally new idea and perspective on vintage cameras.

Image via China Digital Camera

The Lomography Lens

The LOMO lenses are famous for their extreme color and the framing of each photo, not their resolution. The lens of the Belair X 6-12 followed the rules of LOMO lens, with an even wider angle. So we can expect a clear depth and rich image as a result.

58mm lens and 90mm lens: one is good for landscape while the other one is prefect for portrait. Due to the limited amount of time we had to spend with the Belair we only took a few rolls of black and whites but we’re nonetheless surprised with the powerful result of the Belair’s wide angle and large focal length. The multiple-exposure itechnique is cool to try with it too! The only thing I would say is that there’s only two ISOs that can be set: F8 and F16.

Image via China Digital Camera

Operating

Lomography cameras are always user-friendly. The Belair X 6-12 follows that standard too! Put the film in, open the accordion, set the focus, push the shutter, and that’s all! The auto-exposure system is a little bit tricky. So I suggest to turn the ISO lower for optimal lighting. The most interesting thing about this camera is the view finder. With special formats: 6×12, 6×9 and 6×6.

If you want to know more information, please check BELAIR 6×12胶片相机上手测

Magazine › Reviews
¶ Finally Unboxed My Long Anticipated Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter
December 04, 2012
I am happy to announce that I am one of the four lucky Belair testers in Taiwan and thus I’m one of the pioneers to have the Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter in my hands! Now, let’s get ready to unbox my treasure with me!

I have long been shooting with Lomographic cameras and am always keeping an eye out for new cameras from Lomography. This time, they launched a new treasure in the form of the medium format Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter. It’s a lightweight camera that’s operated with an auto-exposure system. It can shoot in 3 formats (6×12, 6×9, and 6×6). It also comes with 2 interchangeable lenses.

Though the lenses are made of plastic they are high quality optical lenses which reduces the weight of the camera yet retains the sharpness of the images that glass lenses produce. From now on, we don’t need to bring our heavy medium-format cameras everywhere and still be able to enjoy shooting in 120 format, the “lighter way”.
1/4|previous photo|next photo|show all photos

Do you see that little round hole to the right of the lens? That’s for light-detecting. So mind the hole and be sure not to block it with your finger when shooting!

Remember to change the mask (there are 3 masks that come with the camera) when shooting photos of different format; one of them has already been inserted into the Belair!

Two interchangeable lenses, which are 90mm and 58mm respectively, have to be changed with the corresponding viewfinder; otherwise parallax occurs.

When looking through the viewfinder you can see some tooth-like markers which mark the view corresponding to shots that would be taken with different formats. The inner tooth correspond to 6×6 while the peripheral ones correspond to 6×9, which is quite easy to remember.

This is where we put the LR44 batteries. It’s easily opened. Note the marker +/- on the pole and beware not to put the batteries in the wrong position (though you could still shoot in a brightly lit environment even if you put the batteries in the wrong way!)

The upper part of the photos shows the door to the battery compartment, and the round thing you see is the wheel for ISO adjustment which should be done before shooting. ISO ranges from 50 to 1600, with bulb mode.

There are 2 little windows for viewing the film at the back of the camera, the upper one for 6×9 and the lower one for 6×6 and format.

YEAH! Our unboxing ceremony for my Belair X 6-12 Jetsetter has come to an end. So please, look forward to our photos taken with the Belair! :)

We all love medium format photography, and that’s why we developed the brand new Belair X 6-12 camera. With the smart auto exposure system and the ability to shoot in 3 formats: 6 × 12、6 x 9、6 x 6, Belair X 6-12 enables you to shoot the most stunning analogue masterpieces ever. Get your own Belair X 6-12 camera from our Online Shop now!

written by 李碩 and translated by memorydusts

written by memorydusts on 2012-12-04 #gear #belair-x-6-12 #street-photography #analogue-photography #review #china

More Interesting Articles

  • A Belair Birthday Exclusive: 30% Off Belair X 6-12 Cameras!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    A Belair Birthday Exclusive: 30% Off Belair X 6-12 Cameras!

    It’s been three years since the classy medium format pioneer, the Belair X 6-12, made its grand appearance in the analogue world. We are celebrating this special occasion with a birthday treat: enjoy 30% savings on all Belair X 6-12 Cameras!

    2015-10-16
  • It’s Christmaaaas! Lomo’Instant Wide Launch Party!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 #news
     It’s Christmaaaas! Lomo’Instant Wide Launch Party!

    Come to the Lomography Soho Store on Thursday, December 3 from 6 to 9pm and try out the new Lomo'instant Wide camera for yourself! Hear live music from LOCKS and grab a few tasty sweet treats along the way! There will also be a raffle draw to win some prizes too!

    2015-11-20
  • Trusty Bags for Trusty Cameras

    written by lomography on 2015-10-17 #news #gear
    Trusty Bags for Trusty Cameras

    We spend copious amounts of time stalking camera forums and researching specifications that "hunter" seems a more fitting term than "collector." And yet, when the time comes to pack all this game—the new or thrillingly ancient cameras—we DIY padding on the spot. (Guilty of trying to avoid the unappealing gear bag from the department store.) Last year though we stocked up on camera bags that are as cool as they are protective. Here are some of them.

    2015-10-17
  • Shop News

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get 15% discount on Lomography Films when you purchase film with the Lubitel camera!

  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Morgane

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-31 #news #gear
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Morgane

    Sip from a cup at a nearby cafe, try the sweet pastries and walk through the romantic streets of Paris with Morgane's photographs of her beautiful city. And as you enjoy the view, hear what this local has to say about her accomplice in taking such lovely photos.

    2016-01-31 3
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 #gear #places #people
    Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    As a core member of Yamanaka Yuko, a local hiking group based in Hong Kong, AM Renault is deeply in love with nature. He is also part of the creative photography group Six Dimen Boy and is good at intertwining photography with art and design elements -- making photos not only useful for documenting what we see, but also as a means to tickle the imagination. The young and talented AM tried out the New Russar+ lens while traveling in Japan with his father. He talks about his experience and shares the sights from his journey in this Lomography Magazine exclusive.

    2015-10-24
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-29 #people
    From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    In order to escape the world of facts and figures, tax auditor Martin Dietrich discovered photography as his creative counterpart almost seven years ago. On a trip to Paris he fell in love with analog photography and the magic of film has been fascinating to him since then. But he also appreciates the benefits of digital photography. For Lomography he tested the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens on his Fuji X-Pro 1 camera. Check out Martin's photos and learn more about the founder of the popular Neoprime magazine.

    2016-01-29 3
  • Make Every Instant Count: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 1

    written by Lomography on 2016-08-24 #gear #news
    Make Every Instant Count: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 1

    Gather round, Lomographers, we’ve got a brand new Mystery Product for you!

    2016-08-24 7
  • Luca's Postcards: Sicily with Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by pan_dre on 2016-08-24
    Luca's Postcards: Sicily with Lomo'Instant Wide

    Honest Magazine founder and photographer Luca-Mercedes Stemer took the Lomo'Instant Wide with her on the beautiful coast of Sicily. This is the postcard we received from her.

    2016-08-24 2
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • My Favorite Places in Buenos Aires: The "Other" Buenos Aires Cemetery

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2016-08-24
    My Favorite Places in Buenos Aires: The "Other" Buenos Aires Cemetery

    Lorraine Healy is an Argentinean writer and photographer. A long-time fan of plastic cameras, she is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. Here, Healy shares one of her favorite places to photograph in her native Buenos Aires.

    2016-08-24 1
  • What It Means to Be an American Citizen for African-Americans in the 19th to 21st Centuries

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-24 #culture #news
    What It Means to Be an American Citizen for African-Americans in the 19th to 21st Centuries

    This photographic timeline discusses the contested relationship between art, justice and African-American culture.

    1
  • Nixon Surf Challenge Exhibition Launch Party Soho

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-08-24 #news
    Nixon Surf Challenge Exhibition Launch Party Soho

    Lomography is thrilled to team up with Nixon for the new edition of the Nixon Surf Challenge, an international competition that gathers the best surfers from all over the world. Join us for the launch party on September 15th from 6-9pm at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho.